With a storm, comes destruction….

Today has seen an awesome storm front make it’s way inland, from the coast where I live.

As it got a little further in, it caused a few problems. Power outages, flash flooding, hail breaking windows.  Not your normal fayre for the North East of England. A wake of destruction means there’s cleaning up to do.

As it is with the weather, so it is with life. I’ve weathered a few storms of my own, if you’ll pardon the rather obvious pun. Each one leaving it’s own wake of destruction, some messier than others, but with each one also came possibility. The possibility to make things better than they were before. The possibility to clear out some of the dross whilst removing the damaged parts, and allow the flowers hidden underneath the rubble space to grow.

 

So… back to today’s storm.  People tend to react in one of two ways initially to a storm – they either love them, or they hate them.  The marmite effect, if you will. Each reaction is then usually split into a further two possible responses – for those who hate them, it’s mostly either because they cause a severe inconvenience to them, or they are scared of the storm itself. For those in the love camp, they usually feel invigorated by a good storm, or it’s the immediate ‘afterglow’ that they enjoy – the sense of things being washed anew.  There will always be exceptions to all of these.  I am one. I don’t say that out of arrogance, or to make me sound special. It’s just an observation. I actually find them quite meditative and relaxing. Cathartic, even.

So today, when the doozy of a storm broke, imagine my discomfort when I didn’t find myself observing the status quo I used to have. There wasn’t another reaction. Just it didn’t happen. I felt a little less fogged – but that was more down to the change in pressure than anything. Not really sure what to make of it.

Yet.

 

Which I guess in a very roundabout way brings me nicely onto the purpose of this blog.  Definitely not my first, and probably won’t be my last either. But after a good year or so off the blogging circuit, and writing in general, now, is probably as good a time as any to start. As to what you’ll find here? A mix of musings, with different focuses – some mundane, some spiritual, some creative…. photos, poetry, things that strike me as I go through my day….

Why I’m doing it? To help me discern my direction as I wander through life, the universe and everything. I’m not feeling lost at the moment (which is usually my reason for changing/starting/restarting to blog) but I have to say I don’t really feel like I know where I’m going at the moment, either. A lot of doors I thought were closed seem to have re-opened of late, and I’m not sure if it’s because it’s a cyclical event, if I’ve gone backwards, or if I’m ready to see or discover something that I wasn’t before… Each of these possibilities has it’s own set of outcomes, and I’m curious as to which it is. Perhaps it’s something I haven’t considered yet as well… after all. You can’t know what you don’t know. Someone probably said that once. I know I wasn’t the first.

 

Leave a Reply

