Fires and Bon(e)fires

Heat is one of those things that *is* duality. It can be good or bad, a tool for healing, or a tool for harm. Destructive or refining. Sometimes both!

The last couple of days I’ve had multiple experiences of heat…

Last week I had a bit of an incident with my Trochantic nerve cluster – it’s happened before, and I believe it stems back to the winter I fell down a set of concrete stairs. Basically, the nerves decide to play silly buggers, and the only warning I get is a bit of a shooting pain in the hours leading up to the full attack. When it finally happened, I KNEW about it, and this was much worse than previous instances. It felt like a red hot poker had been jammed through my thigh.

There was no position I could stand, sit or lie in that stopped the pain, only one position lessened it some. Now I have a *high* tolerance for pain- hell, I’ve stitched myself back together before – literally, however I spent hours screaming into a pillow, just to get some of it out. Fortunately, when this happens, it only lasts for a day or so, and I eventually got painkillers delivered to me as soon as someone was able to go to Morrisons for Ibuprofen for me (as I don’t usually have it in) and I’d also put out a call to help to the person I taught my massage skills to, knowing that having spent 7 hours holding one leg up at an angle was going to cause problems of it’s own. So they duly arrived and helped mitigate those issues.

Since then, I’ve had varying degrees of pain in my pelvis and back, which I’d attributed to the fact I’d been compensating and also sleeping in a different position, so I duly dragged myself over for another session (which we’d both known would be necessary) at the weekend. However this time, there were four spots which when broached sent fire along the nerves. Oddly symmetrical as well. Even more bizarre was the sensitive spots I have on my ribs (due to various cracks and fractures) weren’t actually causing any issue.

I don’t know what was/is behind this, as it just seems a bit odd. Anyway, my friend, who also does reiki, decided this would be a good plan too, and again I felt fire – this time from their hands – which was again a bit unexpected, but this time it was a good thing.

Generally though, I see fire as a positive force – even when in a destructive setting, often it burns away that which is not necessary, or too damaged to be saved. and Fire can quite often be purifying. Another reason I’m looking forwards to sorting out a bonfire- another thing that people have forgotten the origins of. Time to get rid of some of the chaff I reckon…

Leave a Reply

