Time.

It’s definitely true that your perception of time changes as your life pattern does.
For me, having so much time, has meant bizarrely, that I find myself procrastinating MORE than I did when I was insanely busy with work etc… because I KNOW I have time to do it, so it’s not essential to do it now… and then of course, I find myself extremely bored and wondering why there’s nothing to do.
Great how the brain works isn’t it!!

I remember thinking a few months ago, that when I had a bit of time, I’d get some writing done, whilst blitzing through the washing, and some of the projects I have planned would be brought closer to starting, if not started. Well, I can honestly say I’ve had some time now, and NONE of it has been done… I’m not annoyed at myself though or particularly frustrated about it, because my thinking was all about having made the CHOICE to make time to do these things, to see friends etc, and that choice was taken away when I ended up in the hospital. I’m not surprised I haven’t felt like writing particularly yet, but that’s always been one for fits and starts. Should I get the inclination, I’ll probably write like a mad thing for a couple of days straight only stopping to eat and sleep before not bothering again… so that’s fair.

However, I’m now beginning to feel I could probably use my time a bit more effectively. I’m still so limited in what I can do physically, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t anything I can do. So I’m thinking I might make myself a timetable of sorts, even if it’s pretty vague, and only listing a couple of things a day, it will help me. It will give me something I know I’m doing the next day, and something to even look forwards to. And if I know in advance what I plan to do, then I won’t feel as bad about asking for things to be passed to me/gotten instead of it being out of the blue/random requests.

So I’m going to look through my project lists, and see what I have that I could start, get further with the planning with by myself, what will need help with, or things picking up from my house or buying etc, and what stuff is happening with the things I was interested in studying as well. Even if it takes up only a couple of hours each day, it will break the day up some. There’s only so much reading, playing on the internet or playing with Loom bands you can do without a break from it!!

So I guess if there are any suggestions feel free to make them!

I’m looking forwards to hopefully starting to be a bit more mobile soon, I think it’ll be worth trying to get in/out of a car, especially now I’m allowed to put a little weight through my left leg – which would make getting in/out a bit easier, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to get up off lower things a bit easier too, which will potentially mean being able to get in/out of the wheelchair I’ve been loaned, which would be great, as I miss being outside! Even if it’s sitting in the garden with something to do with my hands, it’s still a big treat, and I’m beginning to feel the lack of outside some (which I knew would happen and there was never going to be anything I could do about it really) So I also need to try and get out in the sun a bit more while it’s here, otherwise this winter will be bad for me, and I may end up having to resort to drastic measures to up my exposure to stuff I need.

It’s all a matter of time really…

Leave a Reply

